Rain, Deliciousness, and Big Goals!

It has been quite the rainy day here on the island.

FL Rainy View Jan 27 2016

We started off the day with another yummy bowl of steel cut oats.

Em Steel Cut Oatmeal Jan 16 FL

Then we got nice and wet on our easy 12 miles this morning. It’s really not too bad, though, when you are dealing with 65 degree weather and rain. Warm rain > than cold rain any day.

Next, we earned our keep by helping with a little rug removal and replacing. I vacuumed.

Em FL Vacuum Jan 16

And the guys did the heavy lifting because, while I am working on building my muscle, I am not quite there yet

FL Carpet Jan 16

Last night was full of fun and food. We had a little dinner party with the in-laws and friends. It was a team effort right down to friends helping friends retrieve the wine glasses from on high

Phil FL Jan 16

To a full on spread of deliciousness

FL Dinner spread Jan 26 2016

And I thoroughly enjoyed my mixture of barbecue chicken, marinated broccoli, salad, sautéed Brussel sprouts, and picked beets.

Em's dinner FL Jan 16

Todd and I had a swell time.

Em and Todd before dinner FL Jan 16

And we got to enjoy this little precious thing that came to visit for the party as well.

Georgia FL Jan 16

Em and Georgia FL Jan 16

Okay, I have been alluding to this for a few weeks now, but we have some big goals for our 2016 running endeavors. The first goal is why I have officially asked Todd to truly, truly coach me this time around. I really, really, REALLY want to break my personal best time of 3:16 that I set in the 2012 Cincinnati Flying Pig marathon. My goal is a 3:15 and I am willing to put in the work to say that I gave it my all to get to that goal this year. I am aiming to hit the goal in my hometown Kentucky Derby marathon in April.

Though we have a long way to go, so far so good with hitting my speed work this week. Part of getting to a big goal is to not look too far ahead or to think “how will I ever run it in XX time if I can barely hold that now for one hour!” BUT, I have to keep telling myself that is what training is for. I do not need to hit XX time for a marathon this week. I only need to hit XX time for the next run tomorrow morning. One day at a time and I will get there. This reminds me of a post I just wrote about just getting to the next aid station.  I will need to keep referring back to this post to keep myself focused and grounded over the next three months. And, I plan to bring you along for the journey, so please keep reading! We also have a few other big goals that we will tell you about in future posts.

Do you have any big goals for 2016? Running or otherwise?

Do you like beets? I used to hate them, but I tried them again this week and actually liked them a lot!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Hollie says:

    I’ve heard nothing but good things about that full. Good luck training!

    Right now I have some short term half marathon goals and might do another full marathon in the fall but I’m not entirely sure.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Hollie! Keep us posted about your goals so that we can cheer you on accordingly:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

