Building Character and A Tale of Lasagna Waiting

Today was speed work day. Have I mentioned that I am NOT a fan? I have heard variations of quotes about how important it is to do something you don’t want to do every single day. Something about character building or prepping for difficult times or blah, blah, blah. Well, I think the twice weekly speed sessions that Coach Lovemunch has me doing should cover me for the other 5 days of the week because I DO NOT LIKE speed work.

(PS – This picture shows me in my sassy headband that my wonderful daddy got me. He wants all the boys out there to know that his daughter is not to be messed with. I will share more about my awesome pops in the coming weeks, as we have a super special trip coming up that I cannot wait to post about…so stay tuned!)

Em 2010 Newport

Okay, Em, enough complaining. Really, though, it feels good to get these sessions finished. I did 9 half mile repeats today with very slow jogging for 2.5 minutes between each repeat, plus a 1 mile warmup and a 2 mile cooldown for a total of 9.5 miles. It was also super humid, which I am using for my excuse as to why I was a few seconds slower per half versus last week’s run that I told you about in this post.

Last night was a yummy culmination of salad and white chicken and spinach lasagna. This was the first of two plates.

Dinner FL Feb 1 2016

The evening’s journey began with us trying to avoid snacking for the hour leading up to the lasagna being ready, so we headed out to explore the island. Attention all race directors, this lighthouse would be a great way to light some of the super dark trails we run on in our 100 mile races. Just sayin’

Em Lighthouse Feb 1 2016

Also, attention city council people: we like these signs and would like to see more of them in the Ville when we get home. Thanks.

Todd Crosswalk Feb 1 2016

We are getting good at this selfie business, don’t you think?

Em and Todd Lighthouse Feb 1 2016

In the end, we successfully held off on the snacking and, thus, were able to thoroughly enjoy the super carb night and I think it helped with my dreaded speed session this morning.

Do you have any sassy quotes that inspire you to reach your goals?

Do you ever have difficulty waiting to eat dinner? If so, how do you distract yourself?

 

Leave a Reply

