Performance Anxiety – Good or Bad?

This morning’s run rocked my little world. Coach and I are trying something new and it is kicking my tail but in a good way. During our three key workouts of the week, Todd is running slightly ahead of me to push my pace. I used to think that I was “going all out” but was clearly lying to myself because my times have definitely improved during this two week trial period. Today was my fastest EVER tempo run. We stick to the same 6 mile hilly route for the tempo run each week so that I can truly gauge my progress. We do a 1 mile warmup and 1 mile cool down, too. Last week marked the fastest to that point that I had EVER run a tempo and I trumped it today by 6 seconds/mile. Caveat – I do not wear a watch anymore, so I really don’t know how fast I was going and this morning felt like I was dragging, so I was quite thrilled when Todd finally said to stop (actually at 6.4 miles) and told me my time.  

Here’s the thing, though, I have EXTREME performance anxiety. I go to sleep with this sense of fear like “what if I don’t beat my time from last week on the trial?” This morning, when I felt like I was dragging, I finally just said “enough!” and realized it was okay if I did not beat my time each week, but I determined to just keep pushing regardless. Todd got several feet ahead of me, but I did not let it get to me. So, here’s my question: do you think some level of performance anxiety is good or is it all bad? I feel like part of it is good for me because it drives me to at least try to keep progressing. However, sometimes it causes me to not be able to get to sleep or to wake up mid-sleep and start to dread the alarm. I would love to know your thoughts in the comments section. 

Have we told you how much we love our friends who are awesome cooks? We truly do love them for other reasons, but the fact that they feed us amazing food is quite the bonus. After my post from Monday (Keeping Me Alive and Weekend What-Have-You’s), they made us nutty/oaty/honey bar treats and they are GOOD!!!

Homemade bars by Ryan April 2016

PS—they are the only ones who listened to our request to send us food. Just sayin’…. 

Talk to you soon and have a lovely day in the meantime!

Leave a Reply

