Some Short Runs

Hello Friends! Well, we are still doing the injury recovery thing over here in the Bello house. We are also having some packed weeks with work, so the lower mileage is probably just what we needed anyway.  

I took last Friday through Tuesday totally off of everything, including walking and stretching. I decided that my adamant stretching may have been prolonging my issue. Wednesday, Thursday, and today we did just 3 miles very easy. I have some pain during and after, so we are just not going to go above that until things settle down in my hip flexor. Todd is being so patient and he is also not running or doing any other training while I get better. We also worked with the RD of our next race which was scheduled for the first week of November and he is so graciously letting us defer our registration until next year. I really struggled with this decision but, ultimately, I decided that the race deadline was just putting too much pressure on me. I was already going to a super negative place due to the lack of running and I just did not need to continue to beat myself down feeling the race looming on the calendar.  

Alas, we have no races on the calendar for the remainder of 2016. We will see how this injury progresses and decide on our schedule from there. Right now, I am trying to just step back and remember all the awesome parts of my life that have nothing to do with running. Running will be there for me when I get back from this forced break. Until I can run with no pain, then I am not going to push it.  

I hope all of you are able to get out and enjoy the awesome fall weather. Our prayers are with anyone on the coast experiencing the storms. We will check back in soon, so stay tuned.

EPCOT_BACKSIDE 4_7615640159.jpeg

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jenny says:

    injuries just suck! Sending healing vibes your way… i know it’s frustrating but hang in there. Can you find a chiropractor/massage therapist to do some graston and ARF? I highly recommend it.

    Like

  2. Jenny says:

    Wait… I meant ART not ARF… ha ha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

